top of page

Why I Did Not Commemorate 9/11 Today

I was not in the mood to acknowledge or commemorate 9/11 today. Not through any disrespect to people who lost loved ones -- after all, I nearly lost my father that day, except that he had Tuesdays off back then. But I am not interested in commemorating a lie that has betrayed my country.

But even if you are one who believes the official story as promulgated by GWBush, Cheney, Rumsfeld, Wolfowitz, and now everyone on Team Obama (as if you can believe these people, since no one in the know seems to), do you think these wars, all of which have been justified by 9/11, have been worth it?

According to a study from the Harvard School of Economics, the cost of the wars from the last 13 years is about $6 trillion. For that amount of money, not only has America reduced several nations to ruination (and directly led to the rise of ISIS), but it has destroyed its own future.

That money won't come back. It marked the turning point at which America failed to turn. We could have created an infrastructure we could be proud of. Or, we could have simply not spent the money and we would all be better off. Instead, we spent what we did not have in order to lay waste to entire regions of the world.

I believe in love and forgiveness, but I have not found forgiveness in my heart to those people who have betrayed my country. The country I will always believe in, and which will always exist in my heart. I will never give up on her.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page